Advertising

WCYB, the NBC affiliate for the Tri-Cities Tennessee/Virginia market, is the dominant station in the 97th market and is considered the market leader in news, weather, and sports coverage.


DMA Population: 755,000

Primary Cities: Bristol, Kingsport, Johnson City

Colleges: 5

The Tri-Cities is composed of the three cities Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City and the surrounding areas in northeast Tennessee and southwest Virginia. The city of Bristol, Tennessee has a twin city in Virginia; State Street, in the heart of Bristol, lies on the border between the states. Our station is located less than a block from this unique landmark.

The three major cities of the area are each known for their own unique reasons. Kingsport, the largest city of the three, is the location of Eastman Chemical Company, a large plastics and chemical manufacturer formerly associated with Kodak. Johnson City is the home of East Tennessee State University, the fourth-largest university in Tennessee. Bristol houses one of the most popular NASCAR venues and is also known as "The Birthplace of Country Music" due to some of country music's earliest recordings being made locally with such artists as Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family.

WCYB and WEMT reach four different states in our region: Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina and Kentucky. We have a combined reach of over 335,000 homes. In June 2010 News 5 and Fox Tri-Cities became the first news stations in the region to begin broadcasting in high definition

WCYB serves 17 counties, over 311,430 television households, with accurate and reliable news and severe weather coverage. In addition to the quality NBC programs like The Today Show, The Voice, and The Biggest Loser. WCYB features a variety of the most popular syndicated programs like Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy.

WEMT features the area's only 10 p.m. news, earning your trust and delivering information when you want it most. Fox Tri-Cities provides the best sports programming in the market with NASCAR, NFL, college bowl series, baseball and the World Series. The home of the hottest show on TV, American Idol, and some of the best prime programming including Bones, Sleepy Hollow and Gotham. WEMT features the popular syndicated show The Big Bang Theory each night Monday through Friday from 7-8 p.m. Fox Tri-Cities has become one of the premiere television stations in the Tri-Cities region.

The CW Television Network was formed as a joint venture between the Warner Bros. Entertainment and CBS Corporations. The CW is America's fifth broadcast network and the only network targeting young adults 18-34. The CW offers a five-night, 10-hour primetime lineup that runs Monday through Friday, a weekday afternoon block and a five-hour Saturday morning animation block that delivers a total of 27 hours of programming a week over seven days. The network's primetime schedule includes such popular series as America's Next Top Model, Arrow, Vampire Diaries, and The Originals.

The Advertising Pyramid

Coverage Area

Advertising Breakdown

Sales Management

  Steve Flint
 Director of Sales
 (276) 821-5250
 sflint@wcyb.com

 

  Jim Bowman
 National Sales/Research Manager
 (276) 645-1550
 jbowman@wcyb.com

Sales Assistants

  Cathy Grant
 Local Sales Assistant
 (276) 821-5254
 cgrant@wcyb.com
 

  Patty Raettig
 National Sales Assistant
 (276) 821-9286
 praettig@wcyb.com

Account Executives

  Rick Hensley
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-9282
 rhensley@wcyb.com
 

  Brock Kruzic
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-9285
 bkruzic@wcyb.com
 

  Ginger Lawson
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-5256
 glawson@wcyb.com

Account Executives

  Rachel Clement
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-5252
 rclement@wcyb.com
 

  Laurie DeGroat
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-5251
 ldegroat@wcyb.com
 

  Jim Denton
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-9280
 jdenton@wcyb.com
 

  Dan Leighton
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-9289
 dleighton@wcyb.com
 

  Hope Durham
 Account Manager
 (276) 821-9281
 hgrindstaff@wcyb.com

  Lamar Reid

 Account Manager
 (276) 821-5257
 lreid@wcyb.com