Dobyns-Bennett, Science Hill affected by new TSSAA classification

The Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association's Board of Control voted unanimously Monday to change the football playoff system starting in 2015.

They are creating what will be called the "Super 6," a football classification made up of the state's 32 biggest schools.

Science Hill and Dobyns-Bennett qualify for the new classification.

Every team in the 32-team class will advance to the playoffs and face-off in a tournament.

The remaining 273 schools in the state will be separated into five classes. There will be eight regions within each class and the top four finishers in each region will advance to a 32-team postseason tournament.

The new season that starts Aug. 22 will be the last under the current format which has been used since 2009. The current system breaks down schools into three classes for regular-season play, and then expands to six classes for postseason play.

The TSSAA will finalize the new 6A regions and the remaining regions in classes 1-5 in November.

Most Popular