Bruton Smith snubbed; inductees have BMS history

BRISTOL, Tenn. - Bruton Smith - the CEO of Speedway Motorsports Inc. and owner, operator of Bristol Motor Speedway - missed out on the NASCAR Hall Of Fame for the second time Wednesday.

Smith failed to receive enough votes from the 54-member voting panel. According to the voting percentages released by NASCAR, he finished outside the top eight.

The five new members selected are all drivers. Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White and Fred Lorenzen make up the class of 2015 that will be inducted next January.

BMS Vice President of Public Affairs Kevin Triplett told News 5 WCYB that all five drivers have a history of success at BMS.

"Every grandstand we have here is named after someone who through this process has made it in the hall," Triplett said.

"Today's class is no different. There are five wins and 33 top-tens among this group."

Voting for the 2015 class was as follows: Bill Elliott (87%), Wendell Scott (58%), Joe Weatherly (53%), Rex White (43%) and Fred Lorenzen (30%).

The next top vote-getters were Jerry Cook, Robert Yates and Benny Parsons, according to the NASCAR Hall Of Fame.

Most Popular