Speedway Motorsports Inc. CEO Bruton Smith was not among the five new inductees into the NASCAR Hall Of Fame.

The announcement was made Wednesday evening in Charlotte.

The five-person class – the fifth in NASCAR Hall of Fame history – consists of Tim Flock, Jack Ingram, Dale Jarrett, Maurice Petty and Fireball Roberts.

Next year’s Induction Day is scheduled for Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014. 

The 54-member NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel met Wednesday in a closed session. The next top vote getters were Jerry Cook, Joe Weatherly and Wendell Scott.

Smith is considered one of the great innovators in NASCAR. He started with Charlotte Motor Speedway in 1960. He currently owns eight tracks that host Sprint Cup Series races, including Bristol Motor Speedway.