Winners declared in Tennessee election

10:59 p.m.: Sheriff's races in Greene County and Johnson County have been decided. Pat Hankins win 52% of the vote against incumbent Steve Burns in Greene County, and Mike Reece won in Johnson County with 33% of the vote.

10:43 p.m.: Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey released the following statement after it was announced that Justices Wade, Lee and Clark would be retained.

I would like to congratulate Justices Gary Wade, Sharon Lee and Connie Clark on their retention to the Supreme Court. Their victory was hard fought. But they weren't the only victors -- they join the citizens of Tennessee who gained a fuller appreciation of the role of the judiciary in the state of Tennessee.

For the first time in decades, we had a real election for the Supreme Court. Our Supreme Court justices traveled the state of Tennessee this summer meeting Tennesseans and learning things about our state that you can't find in any law book. Because of that, more Tennesseans than ever know the names of our Supreme Court justices and are aware they have a role in deciding who sits on the high court.

No matter how you look at it. That is the true victory, not just for this effort, but for the state of Tennessee."

10:38 p.m.: 6th District: Micah Van Huss defeats Clayton Stouth with 56%. of the vote.

10:15: Jim Belgeri has been declared the winner in the Sullivan County Highway Commissioner race.

10:08 p.m.: Melville Bailey has been declared the winner of the Hawkins County mayoral race, beating opponent Johnny Greer.

9:48 p.m.: Incumbent Senator Lamar Alexander has been declared the winner of his primary.

Fellow Senator Bob Corker released the following statement:

"Our state and country is better with Lamar Alexander in the United States Senate," said Corker. "It is a very high privilege to serve with him, and I wish all Tennesseans could see how each day he seeks ways to move our country ahead. I congratulate Lamar and his team for a great campaign, and I am thankful to be able to continue to serve with him on behalf of the citizens of Tennessee."

The Tennessee GOP released the following statement:

"Congratulations to Senator Lamar Alexander for winning the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate. Once again, Tennesseans are rallying to his candidacy because they trust his steady hand and his conservative record. He's well-positioned for the fall to return to the U.S. Senate and help lead a new Republican majority."

9:43 p.m.: Bud Hulsey has been declared the winner of the District 2 GOP race. He defeated incumbent Tony Shipley.

9:15 p.m.: Incumbents Phil Roe and Bill Haslam have won their respective primaries.

The following is a statement from the Tennessee GOP about Haslam's win:

"Congratulations to Governor Bill Haslam on his overwhelming victory in tonight's Republican primary. Governor Haslam's visionary leadership has jumpstarted our economy, revamped our education system, and set our state on a path of achievement. He's been an outstanding leader for our State and I look forward to telling voters about his positive message this fall."

Most Popular