TENNESSEE - With warmer weather here many of you are cleaning up your yards.
The Tennessee State Fire Marshal has a warning, be careful when you burn.
Here's what you need to know if you burn outside. Until May 15th, anyone starting an open air fire within 500 feet of a forest, grassland or woodland area must by law secure a burning permit from the Tennessee Department of Agricultures Division of Forestry.
The permits can be obtained by calling your local division of forestry.
Permits are generally good for 24 hours and can be issued for weekend burning.
- Updated VA Coal and Energy Alliance Conference: Industry leaders optimistic about coal rebound
- McAuliffe announces millions for 'green' overhaul in Russell Co. Schools
- UPDATE: Former regional jail guards indicted for contraband, bribes
- Letter: Flynn cites 'public frenzy,' invokes 5th Amendment
- Bristol Spruce-Up: Deadline approaching for Neighborhood Grant program