Primary election results from around the area

Voters came out in force to cast their ballots on Tuesday.

Here is a look at some of the top races.

Bristol, Va.: Two new faces will join the Bristol, Virginia city council. Bill Hartley and write-in-candidate Archie Hubbard won seats on the council.

Mayor Jim Steele was the only incumbent to win re-election. Don Ashley and Ed Harlow both lost.

Washington County, Tenn.: After a narrow victory of just 13 votes for Washington County Sheriff Ed Graybeal, his challenger Craig Ford has announced he will explore the possibility of a recount. Ford said in a statement he owes it to his supporters to respectively request a recount with the vote being that close. Graybeal has been with the sheriff's office since 1980 and was first appointed sheriff in 2003. If the vote stands, Tuesday night's win will begin his fourth term.

Sullivan County, Tenn.: Sullivan County Sheriff Wayne Anderson survived the primary election, picking up 58 percent of the vote. He defeated Sullivan County commissioner Ty Boomershine, who worked for the sheriff's office for 22 years.

Sheriff Anderson faces Democratic challenger and former Tennessee Highway Patrolman John Taylor in August.

Voters in Sullivan County chose to go in a new direction for county mayor by returning a former county mayor to the office. Richard Venable unseated two-term incumbent Steve Godsey by more than 8,000 votes.This will be Venable's second go-around as county mayor. He held the office before Godsey from 2002 until he decided not to run again in 2006.

Carter County, Tenn.: There will be a new sheriff in Carter County. Two-term incumbent Chris Mathes lost his primary race to Dexter Lunceford. Right now, there's a difference of about 68 votes, which does not include provisional ballots; as it stands, Lunceford will face James Parrish in the August general election. Parrish is a former chief deputy of the department under former sheriff John Henson.

Pound, Va.: Incumbent mayor George Dean defeated challenger Rocky Cantrell to hold on to the office he's held since 2012.

Dickenson County, Va.: Clintwood mayor Donald Baker will hold onto the job he's held since 1988. He defeated challenger Harold Stanley, taking 64 percent of the votes.

Pennington Gap, Va.: Larry Holbrook has unseated incumbent mayor D.R. Carter. Carter had been mayor since 2010.

Click here for full coverage of the May 2014 election.

Most Popular